Review: Maple Holistics Degrease Shampoo

Review: Maple Holistics Degrease Shampoo

In February of this year, I stumbled upon a blog post about how to train your scalp to produce less oil so that you can go longer between washes. Less washes means less damage to hair, which is what I was looking for since I have very fine straight hair that is prone to split ends.

After a month of going every other day between washes, I was not enjoying the scalp training experience. My hair would look oily and gross by day 2 of no washing. I decided to look into a shampoo that would help with oil production. I found Maple Holistics Degrease Shampoo on amazon.com and decided to give it a try, despite the high cost of $16 for an 9.9oz bottle.

My first impression is that it does not smell like shampoo. It smells natural and earthy, but not unbearably so. The smell doesn’t stick to my hair, so it isn’t there after my hair dries. Only downside is that my hair doesn’t smell good or bad, it just smells neutral.

I like that this shampoo is all natural and works with my body’s natural oil production to reduce the amount of oil my scalp usually produces due to over-washing and using styling products. I feel good about using it and know it’s helping rather than hurting like shampoos with sulfates. This product seems to be more natural. 

I’ve been using the Degrease shampoo for about six months and now I can go 3-4 days in-between washes! I love that the product also included a info card with tips on how to keep hair healthy, like rinsing with cool water after a hot shower to seal the hair cuticles, reducing oil production.

Overall, I would recommend this product to anyone who gets an oily scalp and would like to go a couple days in-between washes to keep hair healthy and clean. After 4 months I got my hair cut and the stylist said my hair looked great and didn’t really see any split ends to trim! I say that’s a win!

Have you tried this product? How do you keep your hair healthy?

Leave a Reply

