Homemade Golden Delicious Applesauce (No Sugar Added)

#Homemade #Golden #Delicious #Applesauce #Recipe (no sugar added)

During the summer and fall months I love shopping at farmers’ markets for fresh produce. Luckily, this year, I was able to purchase an entire case of golden delicious apples before they closed up for the winter. I needed to use up the rest of my apples and came up with a delicious and easy recipe for homemade applesauce. I looked online for ways to make it and stove-top seemed to be the quickest.

Ingredients:

3lbs – Golden Delicious Apples (or any sweet, soft apple)

1 tsp – Ground Cinnamon

1 cup – Water

Homemade Applesauce Recipe

Instructions:

Peel the apples to remove the skin. I’m not very picky about having a bit of apple skin in my applesauce, so if you do not like chunks you will need to be sure to remove all the skin from the apples.

Homemade Applesauce Recipe

After removing the skin from the apples, use an apple corer to remove the stem and seeds. Be careful because the apples can be slippery and not all are easy to remove the core if they are lop sided.

Homemade Applesauce Recipe

Slice the apples and place in a large pot. Add the cinnamon and water and give it a little stir. I must note that I’m not sure if this is exactly 3lbs. I used 8 large Golden Delicious apples until the pot was full.

Homemade Applesauce Recipe

Put on medium – high heat until water comes to a boil. Reduce heat to a simmer and cover with a lid. Let cook 20 minutes, stirring periodically.

#Homemade #Golden #Delicious #Applesauce #Recipe (no sugar added)

Mash the apples with a potato masher to desired texture. I like mine a little bit lumpy. You can also put into a food processor to get a very thin applesauce. Remove from stove and let cool in pot or in storage containers. Applesauce should last a couple weeks in the fridge. You may also freeze the applesauce for even later use and then thaw in the fridge overnight.

#Homemade #Golden #Delicious #Applesauce #Recipe (no sugar added)

My favorite thing to do is re-heat the applesauce in the microwave for about 60 seconds and add a little extra cinnamon on top. Be warned! I became addicted to this applesauce and it does not last long in my house! 🙂

Leave a Reply

