10 Favorites of 2013

I have done a favorite things of the year for the past couple of years on Facebook and decided I should post on my blog this year! My top 10 favorite things range from food to beauty products and fitness routines. If you do your own list for 2013 share it with me! I’d love to take a look at what you developed a liking for. Let’s start from the bottom and lead up to number one shall we…

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

ALT 98.7 LA

#10 – iHeart Radio: ALT 98.7 LA’s Alternative Station – I discovered iHeart radio instead of Pandora and fell in love with this station. They play non-stop music from 9am-noon PST and that’s right at my lunch break at 12-3pm EST. I walk during lunch and listen to their awesome mix of new and older alternative rock music.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Jousting Contest The Doctor and Amy Pond at the Renaissance Festival

#9 – Ohio Renaissance Festival It was my first time at the Ohio Renaissance Festival and I had a great time! The food was alright, but the atmosphere and shows were wonderful. I have to say, though, the best part was seeing a couple dressed as The Doctor and Amy Pond. 🙂 I had a wonderful time and hope to go again next year!

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Chocolate Covered Pretzel Shot

#8 – Chocolate Covered Pretzel Shot (alcoholic beverage, please drink responsibly) This was probably the best shot I have ever had. I don’t drink much though, so it’s possible there are more delicious ones, but it is now my favorite. You drink then suck on the lemon!

Here is the recipe:

1 oz. Whipped Cream Vodka

1 oz. Frangelico

1 tbsp Salt (on the rim)

1 slice Lemon

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Surly Girl Saloon Columbus Ohio Surly Girl Saloon

#7 – Surly Girl Saloon, Columbus, Ohio I wanted to try somewhere new and authentic for my birthday celebration, so I took my friends to the Surly Girl Saloon, which I randomly found by searching places on Google maps in the Short North area. It was a hit! My friends and I loved the atmosphere and the food was A-MAZING! The place is a little small, but the service was incredible. The waiter made us a shot I had never tried and it is now my favorite (see #8)! We’ll definitely be going back.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Van's 8 Whole Grains Multigrain WafflesNutrition Facts

#6 – Van’s 8 Whole Grains Multigrain Frozen Waffles I wanted an alternative, natural, healthy waffle for a change to my usual egg and veggie omelet breakfast. These delicious, crispy waffles were perfect. Low in sugar, high in fiber and decent on the protein. I will eat one or two, depending on my calorie allowance. I definitely recommend if you need a healthy alternative to frozen waffles.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

jillian-michaels-hardbody

#5 – Jillian Michael’s Hard Body Workout I wanted a new workout in my routine. I have almost every single one of Jillian’s workouts and I really enjoyed adding this one to my routine. I normally do Killer Abs and Banish Fat Boost Metabolism. This workout was a good combination of cardio and strength. I like that it only had 2 circuits within 45 minutes. I warn you, she has you do a lot of push ups and arm workouts in this one!

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Homemade Applesauce

#4 – Homemade Applesauce I was obsessed with the farmers market this year. I was there every week stocking up on veggies and fruit. When they were closing for the season they were selling cases of apples for $12, so I got one! I made some amazingly easy and delicious applesauce. I ate 5lbs of it within 2 weeks. It was THAT good. I will post a blog with my recipe!

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

ytcU_towelettes_allure_30ct

#3 – Yes to Cucumbers Facial Towelettes I was using a different brand of towelette and also a store brand. I like this product the most because it is 98% natural and feels good on my skin. The only downfall is the smell, but it doesn’t last long. Overall, I like the product and will continue to buy since it’s earth and sensitive face friendly!

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – SensatioNail Kit

#2 SensatioNail Gel Polish I got this kit in 2012, but I’ve used it a LOT in 2013! I have SO many colors now. It’s seriously a miracle to be able to do my own nails instead of going to a solon to get a professional looking manicure. I admit I’m not a pro at it, but others think I am! It’s definitely worth the money. Only downfall is that the base/top coat is in a very tiny bottle and needs replaced more often than the polish. The polish also is only given a year shelf life (depending on it’s exposure to light) so keep the polishes in a dark place. I keep them in their boxes.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Simple Truth

#1 Simple Truth and Simple Truth Organic I started eating all natural and organic in January 2013 and later in the year my local Kroger store introduced a more affordable natural and organic lines. I have tried dozens of their products and they are not only cheaper, but just as delicious! Look out for the peanut butter and pasta sauce though, I did not like these ones. Overall, I love having the opportunity to purchase foods free from artificial ingredients, preservatives, antibiotics and hormones. I definitely recommend this brand along with other Organic and natural foods.

Leave a Reply

