Simple and Easy Baked Apple Pie

Simple and Easy Baked Apple Pie

Thanksgiving is coming up and I wanted to share my simple and easy baked apple pie recipe. This was my first time making a homemade apple pie with homemade crust! I haven’t tried it yet, but I’ll update this post when I try it on Thanksgiving. I tried to be healthy and use whole wheat flour and almond milk instead of cows milk. I also wanted a crust that didn’t need to chill for an hour.

Apple Pie Ingredients

Ingredients:

Crust (you will need to double this recipe for top and bottom crust, I made them at separate times) –

1.5 cups 100% Whole Wheat Flour

2 teaspoons White Sugar

1 teaspoon Salt

1/2 cup vegetable oil

2 tablespoons Almond Milk

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Combine pie crust ingredients and mix with a fork until mixture thickens. Add 1-2 tablespoons of water if mixture seems too dry. Flatten dough evenly into pie pan. Bake bottom crust for 15 minutes, remove from oven and let cool.

Apple Pie Filling

Pie Filling –

5 Large Golden Delicious Apples (Peeled and sliced)

1/2 cup Granulated Sugar

1.5 tablespoons 100% Whole Wheat Flour

1.5 tablespoons Lemon Juice

1 teaspoon Ground Cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon Salt

1/4 teaspoon Ground Nutmeg

1 tablespoon Chilled Butter (cut into pieces)

Baked Crust For 15 Minutes

Instructions:

Preheat oven 425 degrees. Peel and slice apples and put into large bowl. Combine the 6 ingredients until Nutmeg and toss apples to evenly coat them. Spoon apple mixture into the cooled bottom pie crust. Place pieces of chilled butter around the pie. Add top unbaked pie crust and press a fork around the edges to press top and bottom dough together. Cut several slits into the top pie crust to allow steam to vent through. Brush the top with a little milk or almond milk and sprinkle cinnamon and sugar (optional). Place pie pan on a baking sheet and place into the oven. Let pie bake for 10 minutes at 425 degrees and then, without removing the pie, reduce heat to 350 degrees for 40 minutes. Remove pie with both hands and pot holders and let cool away from the oven.

Finished Easy Baked Apple Pie

Since I wasn’t immediately eating the pie, I let it cool on the counter with just plastic wrap covering until it wasn’t hot on the bottom, then I placed it in the freezer. On Thanksgiving day I will place it in the oven for about 15-20 minutes to warm and then serve with whipped topping or vanilla ice cream!

Golden Delicious Apple

UPDATE: 11/30/13

apple pie slice

I served the pie to my family on Thanksgiving day and they loved it! I enjoyed it too! I was so happy that it turned out being delicious as well as aesthetically appealing. My aunt kept saying how beautiful it looked! I think it may have had something to do with the whole wheat crust making it a nice brown color and the cinnamon sugar on top!

Leave a Reply

